Some say that because many people are living much longer, the age at which people retire from work should be raised considerably To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As the life expectancy of the general population extends, some propose the age for retirement should be postponed correspondingly. In my opinion, I do not concur with this statement, after considering both individual and social prospects, because I believe the drawbacks outweigh the benefits. Continuing to work when one is aged can pose several problems. While some people believe working can maintain one's activity level and cognitive function, it is foreseeable that some employments impose a heavy load and stress on elderly. When a human body has been functioning for over fifty years, there are bound to be some "ailments" which require medical attention and care, such as pain syndromes, concentration problems, osteoporosis, Parkinsons Disease and Dementia. Forcing mature seniors to continue working in labour-intensive duties such as fireman and policemen would be disrespectful. Thus, it is unwise to extend the age of ceasing employment to citizens. Furthermore, delaying retirement can lead to social problems. With mature employees high up in the hierarchy for extended years, the movement up a career ladder would be much slower for juniors. Job opportunities for graduates and other younger ones in the institution would be reduced, leading to a rise in unemployment rate in society. If, on the contrary, retirement takes place earlier, this would free adequate positions and allow freshers to start their career, which, in turn, casts a positive impact on the community's productivity and economy. In conclusion, my view is that lengthening of lifespan does not imply a need to postpone the age for work withdrawal because of both individual health constraints and the effect on job opportunities.