Topic 4: In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In some Asian countries, namely China and Korea, there has always been constant stress on hard work. This leads to the view that children should work diligently to achieve anything they desire. Here I will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of the aforementioned thinking. To begin with, there are some perks of teaching children about hard work. Firstly, children may gain more knowledge and experience since they have to put a lot of effort and energy to try repeatedly, thus helping them acknowledge their mistakes and learn from failures. For instance, Thomas Edison, who invented the incandescent light bulb, worked on many theories countless times until he realized what his errors were, hence enabling him to develop the final invention of the lamp. Secondly, by working hard, children would become more patient and disciplined. It means that they would remain optimistic and inspire themselves with the appealing result of working hard without feeling disheartened after several failures. Undoubtedly, virtues accrued through hard work would be helpful for children in their future careers. However, teaching children about diligence would bring about several disadvantages. One consequence is that this instruction may cause youngsters to have false hopes and unrealistic expectations, thus causing them to feel demotivated when they receive undesirable results. For example, many Vietnamese students claim that they feel discouraged when they receive a bad grade on a test that they worked hard on. As a result, their hopes are shattered and they may no longer believe in the practice of working hard. Another demerit is that endeavoring excessively would result in some mental problems. In particular, when children spend most of their time working, they tend to feel the urge to work even more. Hence causing them to lose work -life balance and suffer from mental illnesses such as anxiety, depression, or fatigue. In conclusion, teaching children that working hard ensures success can have both beneficial and detrimental effects. Although this notion helps children to accumulate experience and enhance their perseverance, it may result in delusive contentment and mental issues for the youngsters. Therefore, parents and teachers should also teach children about smart working and assist them in striking the balance between these notions so that children can work more effectively and have a higher chance of accomplishing success.