The main purpose of public libraries is to provide books, and they should not waste their limited resources and space on providing expensive hi-tech media such as computer software, videos and DVDs. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

Public libraries play a vital role in providing resources to improve one's knowledge in any required area. Some people argue that the goal of public libraries is to offer only the print media and not to have wasted their floor area by extending support through the digital media such as computer software, DVDs and videos. In my opinion, I disagree with this statement as not every person cannot own the latter. In developing countries such as India, it is expected that the public libraries provide access to software and other digital media since most households still do not have the purchasing power to own a desktop or laptop despite the fact that they are required for studies these days. This is because the gross income of such houses is sufficient only to address their basic needs such as food and residence. For example, during the recent lockdown, when every school went online, my maid's children found it difficult to attend their online classes. At this time, a nearby government library allowed these kids to make use of its computers for their studies and to complete their homework. Moreover, most people find their mobile phones as a distraction and tend to put them in the library's locker. In such cases, when one has to quickly look for any guidance can make use of these properties without having to unlock their cellphones. For instance, during my final year's project preparation, I had been to a public library to complete my thesis where I was looking for books on Project Management. There were hundreds of books on the same topic which made it difficult for me to decide on the best. Without wasting time, I made use of the computer available to find the best author on that heading using their library management software and picked the same to finish my task. To sum up, considering the non-availability of high-technology media in everyone's home, and for being able to find a reference book or article within a short period of time, it is required for a public library to host these digital resources in addition to the books. It would be helpful if the local government provides additional funds to these facilities to arrange for such resources for the benefit of the children from families under the poverty line.