In some countries around the world men and women are having children at a later age than in the past. What are the reasons for this development? What are the effects on society and family life?

Nowadays in some places globally, couples have been preferring to bear a child after spending a good amount of time together instead of having it immediately like a couple of decades ago. In this essay, we will decipher the reasons behind the delayed child planning and the holistic implications on the family as well as the community. To commence with, a career gets uppermost priority over raising children. In order words, people are keen to settle in their life with a good package. For instance, if one wants to give an excellent lifestyle to their offspring and fulfil their demands then they would have to wait for the right time. Moreover, females would want to climb the corporate ladder rather than babysit at home, thus compromising their promotions. Consequently, the attitude to excel in life pushes family planning to the boundaries. On other hand, late infant birth leads to a wider generation gap. To elaborate on this, in future, families will have a difficult time understanding each other's perspectives which may have detrimental effects on family harmony. Besides this, in case the pregnancy is planned for the later stage of life complications might arise harming the mother as well as the newborn. Also, as the age gap between cousins will vary, they would fail to create childhood memories. That said, the demographics of society may fluctuate and the world would have uneven population pockets. To summarise, although professional growth is valuable and vital, one must remember conceiving may or may not be smooth for everyone, additionally family bonding may affect due to varied opinions. One should cautiously make decisions keeping the above aspects in mind.