The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think that this will lead to English becoming the only langusge to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

English has become a universal language in the world nowadays. Some individuals believe that English will become the only language to be used internationally. There are advantages and disadvantages of communicating in a single language in the world. The details will be discussed below. First and foremost, using one single language in the world may cause the loss of cultural diversity. The ancient people made up words, idioms and slangs by their living practice, culture and their history in the past. The original meaning of the wordings might be lost when the various types of language turned into one language. For example, the practice of using Traditional Chinese is banned in Mainland China and the government recommended citizens to use Simplified Chinese as a replacement. Chinese residents may forget the process of the creation of Chinese words. Still, converting multiple languages into one makes communication more efficient. Communication is important in different aspects of work, like business, healthcare and the public sector. Those jobs required specific skills and learning professional terms to deal with different issues. It will cause lots of misunderstanding when an individual is facing a language which is not well known. Take the healthcare settings as an example, it is common to use unique abbreviations in the clinical area because it can minimize the language barrier and optimize the confusion caused by different staff with various nationalities. Single language helps people to avoid mistakes. To conclude, using one single language helps communication become more efficient. Still, it may cause the loss of cultural diversity.