Children have more and more tests and exams to do at school, sometimes starting from the age of five or six, right up until the age of 18. What are the advantages and disadvantages of making children do exams?

Examinations are an inseparable part of school life. Pupils have to take many exams and tests during their study years from early ages to the end of high school. However, are they productive or do they do more harm than good? In this essay, I will discuss the pros and cons of this issue and try to draw some conclusions. To begin with, exams can make students study the lessons they are taught in school. If there were no tests at all, the students would tend not to study. As a result, they would not learn their lessons and do worse in later stages of school. Therefore, the prospect of having an exam can encourage children to study more. Another plus point of taking a test could be to maximize students learning process. For instance, tests can target those important areas or parts that students might not pay attention. This can be extremely helpful in reminding them of those hidden tips and points. On the other hand, frequent examinations can negatively affect children so that they would hate schools. Clearly, youngsters are not fond of exams as they want to play more in their free time. More exams mean less or no leisure time thus bringing a sense of resentment to children. Another problem with the tests is that students would not necessarily learn valuable skills for their future careers by just doing good in their exams. By studying for exams, children would have to memorise certain stuff in order for them to pass the exams. This can not have a long-lasting learning efficiency on them. In conclusion, exams have positive and negative outcomes. In spite of making children learn more and better, they can bore students so which would build hatred towards school. In addition, exams do not test the actual skills needed for having a successful career. Therefore, I personally, do not think that increasing their number would have a positive result.