Although there are a lot of translation software available, learning a language could still be advantageous. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, thanks to technological advancement, the phenomenon of replacement of language with translation software has aroused wide concerns among various circles and there is a wide range of opinions on the utility of electronic translation. Nevertheless, I vehemently agree with the view that learning a language is irreplaceable. Today, I would like to shed light on this topic. Firstly, learning a foreign language allows us to have a sense of satisfaction and confidence. Although a language learning process might take several years to get improved, it is of uttermost importance that it allows us to establish a sense of satisfaction if we could communicate with foreigners by using other languages effectively. Hence, the level of confidence can be increased as well, this in turn would increase our job competitiveness in the future. Since foreign language, for example, English, is undoubtedly considered as the main communication medium, it is unlikely that we could impress interview panels if we primarily rely on a translator to convey our message throughout the interview process. What is also worthy of our attention is that people can appreciate and embrace other cultures by having an understanding of the language of other countries. Not only can the language provide us about its culture, but also teach us about its history. For instance, in Chinese characters, each stroke of a character represents a specific meaning which is responsible for explaining the word and the Chinese culture itself. Throughout the learning process, in spite of showing respect to other cultures, we could also understand the unique charateristics of different cultures instead of being stubborn and only considering our country as the best nation. Thus, our spiritual quality of life can then be enhanced. To summarise, regarding the personal and mental development that mastering a foreign language might have, it is of paramount importance that we should rely solely upon the electronic software to convey messages. It is hoped that the general public would find mastering another language interesting and satisfying.