Some people think the news has no real connection to people’s lives, so reading newspapers or watching news programs on television is a waste of time. Do you agree or disagree?

It is generally acknowledged by certain individuals that the information on news is too far from ordinary people ’s lives, so newspapers and news programs are useless in contemporary society. Regarding this, I strongly disagree with this assertion. To begin with, although some argue that international news is not relevant to the local public’s life, newspapers and news programs on TV provide local news that should be known by the local population. Some news can help people prevent the second disaster since it informs about potential dangers. For example, people could get information from news that their air fryers that were made by a company called Insignia should be recalled due to the potential harm of explosion. If it had not been for the news, they would have been risked by a fire. As the example clearly illustrates, news is essential to prepare for dangers. Next, local news can build a safe atmosphere. Not only can local news provides the information of missing pets, but it may also contribute to finding missing people. Since a lot of people read newspapers and watch news programs on television, the information can be spread all over the country, thereby leading to find missing animals and individuals quickly. For instance, in Korea, a lot of missing people who were targeted by criminals have found thanks to the news that showed missing people ’s pictures frequently. Therefore, local news plays a key factor in maintaining a safe environment. Finally, even though people can find a lot of information online, not every information is reliable. Since not everyone who write information is professional, it can be harmful to individual’s health. Regarding this, during the pandemic, some spread wrong information online that wearing masks is more harmful than COVID 19 virus. Therefore, a considerable number of uneducated people believed this and protested not to wear a mask. However, media such as newspapers and news programs provided the right information about wearing a mask. Consequently, accurate media such as newspapers and news programs are an efficient means of gaining reliable information In conclusion, while I accept that some people are concerned about newspapers and news programs, there is no doubt that it facilitates people preventing dangers, finding missing people, and providing reasonable information. Therefore, newspapers and news programs are indispensable rather time-wasting.