Experts believe that over the next decade, robots will be doing many of the jobs currently done by humans. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this.

Nobody is a stranger to the fact that we live in a digital world. Many experts contend that over the next 10 years, robots will take over the jobs in many industries, which are currently done by people. To my way of thinking, there are both pros and cons to this proposal in equal measure. There are many advantages, if you ask me, to this situation. In the first place, it increases work productivity at the workplace. Machines can work much longer hours than human employees without taking breaks. Their result is much more efficient and far more accurate than employees. People may make mistakes at work, but machines do not. Added to this, they do not have to be paid. Some occasional repairs are may be required over the long periods. This saves a great amount of money for businesses. For instance, many supermarkets in many countries use automatic customer check-out points, which avoid hiring many workers. Be that as it may, the downsides of this phenomenon, if you ask me, are just as big. For one thing, it raises the unemployment rate. People who lose jobs because of this will have no income and therefore no money to spend. This could cause serious consequences for the economy. To name but one example, governments cannot get taxes from individuals. As a result of this, governments do not have enough funds for schools, hospitals, public transport and many other facilities and infrastructure. It follows to stand, therefore, that the quality of all essential services will suffer. Turning to my own experience, the way things are when it comes to this issue in my country, China, is the same as it was across the world over. My home city of Shanghai is a classic case in point. Here, many factories use robots to make products. Many workers cannot find jobs due to the higher preferences for machines in industrial sectors. At the end of the day, there are merits and drawbacks to all choices we make in life. It is very important that governments play a role in creating enough employment opportunities for humans. This will develop their societies in a much more sustainable way.