Today children spend a lot of their free time watching TV. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of this practice?

In contemporary settings of advanced media, children rather invest their leisure time in watching television. However, I considerably support the idea that its impact on juveniles, in terms of health and intelligence outweighs its advantages. To commence with, however, there are many demerits of watching TV in a spare time, but the most evident one is the poor well-being of younglings because sitting in one place for a long duration of time ultimately makes teenagers sluggish and physically unfit. For instance, Netflix and Amazon Prime are the major contributors to increasing kids’ engagement in media by offering different kinds of seasons that are relevant to their interests. Therefore, broadcasting varieties of shows and cartoons also prevents them from participating in extracurricular activities. Another problem is that binge-watching seasons also affect a child’s intelligence because pupils do not get sufficient time to perform brain exercises, such as solving puzzles. For example, according to recent studies conducted by paediatricians, it has been found that sub-adults who are more exposed to electronic gadgets do not take interest in learning new skills as well as tend to lack focus in studies. Moreover, this trend has drastically reduced reading habits amongst children. In conclusion, however, there are a few benefits of watching television in leisure hours, such as exploring the world virtually and knowing global trends through TV shows, but they all come at the price of the unsound body. In my overall opinion, there are more disadvantages, including affected health and smartness, that overcome the positive effects of dedicating extended hours to favourite shows and movies.