many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. some people however that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

While a group of people believe that government should focus solely on the economy, the others think that there are other progresses such as education and freedom of speech should take the same attention to the economy for getting a developed country. I personally agree with the second party, in the following paragraphs, both views will be discussed in detail. To begin with, some societies believe that economic progress is one of the most crucial issues that help them get a higher standard of living. For example, if governments focus on growing economies, they can create many employment opportunities for their residents. Thus, they can earn enough money to purchase the things they need in their daily lives and live more comfortably. However, I don’t think the government should only prioritize economic development since it alone cannot increase folk happiness. On the other hand, other people argued that in addition to the economic progress education and freedom of speech cause a nation’s development. Education is known as the most powerful weapon which can change the world overnight. For instance, after the second world war, Japan was totally destroyed and the authorities were concerned more to build an intellectually mature generation by providing them with all methods of education. Hence, after a short period of time Japan become one of the pioneer countries in technology and economy. Moreover, the authorities should reinforce freedom of speech which will save the population from the stifling environment of autocracy. In conclusion, even though a country can have a higher standard of living when its economy is stronger, I believe education and freedom of speech are also crucial because they have a great impact on national development