In recent years, there has been growing interest in the relationship between equality and personal achievement. Some people believe that individuals can achieve more in egalitarian societies. Others believe that high levels of personal achievement are possible only if individuals are free to succeed or fail according to their individual merits. What is your view of the relationship between equality and personal success?

It is sometimes argued that personal achievement depends on a fair and equitable society or personal freedom. In my opinion, I believe that these two factors are prime drivers for individuals to achieve more. To begin with, the first argument that springs to my mind is that inequality often endangers one's achievement. One prominent example would be gender inequality. It is an inevitable trend that modern societies are becoming more equal to males and females. While in the past, men dominated the higher hierarchy in traditional societies, now women can be equally influential in modern societies - be it political or educational positions. Another case in point is education. Without equal access to technology, students in impoverished countries are easily left behind, given they have less opportunities and resources to learn from. Equally worth mentioning is that personal freedom is a prime driver for one's success. There are numerous studies, related to education and motivation, that have demonstrated that free choice is essential to one's motivation in study and work. If individuals can choose their subjects or jobs freely, they would have a sense of relatedness, and this will enable them to be more self-determined and persevere to achieve more. Therefore, many educators suggest parents should be open to their children's choices of studying or working, not limited to particular areas such as medicine or engineering, and I agree. If parents placed equal importance on arts and sports, there would be more great painters, musicians and athletes. In conclusion, it seems to me that society putting an emphasis on equality can have a positive impact on personal success.