SOME PEOPLE THINK THAT THE BEST WAY TO IMPROVE ROAD SAFETY IS TO INCREASE THE MINIMUM LEGAL AGE FOR DRIVING A CAR OR MOTOR BIKE. TO WHAT EXTENT DO YOU AGREE AND DISAGREE?

The number of accidents in road traffic has risen significantly in recent years. While some people believe that these tragedies are related to the driver's age, I am inclined to disagree with this perspective. The causes of these tragedies are numerous, but the main factors are irresponsible drivers who operate cars or motorbikes at high speeds, under the influence of substances and use their phones while driving. It is important to emphasize that age is not necessarily linked to careless or negligent driving. Many people over 30 years old are not prudent behind the wheel because they do not have a sense of responsibility. In Brazil, there are many young motorists who drive safely, avoid accidents, and do not disrupt traffic. On the contrary, they are reliable and conscientious operators. Nevertheless, a considerable number of older motorists are more prone to causing accidents, if they are using their phones while driving, speeding on the roads, or driving under the influence of drugs. The stringent implementation of traffic laws is essential. Measures such as increasing traffic fines and revoking a driver's license for 10 years after repeated violations would significantly reduce disasters. These actions would sharply diminish the accidents, as they will encourage motorists to respect the rules and, consequently, enhance safety on the road. To sum up, tragedies are not necessarily linked to age. However, the implementation of strict measures can lead to a significant decline in road tragedies and a marked increase in safety.