In the future, nobody wiil buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Following the advent of the internet, news can be read online with one click or with a touch of a screen in this modern society. It’s argued that in the future, traditional newspapers or printed books will have no buyers because there is free access to online news or e-books. This essay totally agrees with this statement. I believe that as online publications can offer the fresh and latest news every hour while printed ones cannot and also there is no payment required, readers will choose the more convenient source of information in long run. As opposed to traditional newspapers, information can be updated very quickly online. Therefore, media outlets are now shifting online to meet the demand for faster information. Instead of waiting one more day to get the news updates, the convenience of getting the latest data online at a click of a news link gains more satisfaction from readers. For an instance, in Singapore, the news of a train breaking down or a car accident on road immediately came up on the internet, sometimes even together with the live videos and so, everyone can know what just happened in the country within a few minutes. Hence, many people prefer to browse their news online exclusively and this trend will surely continue in the future. In addition, most digital publications like the news or e-books are available for free worldwide. Since the internet has become widely accessible all around the globe, everyone not only has accessibility to the web to read news and articles but also can download the books they like without any payment. For example, when I need a book, instead of going to the book shop, I can just search it on the internet and there are always some websites which offer free e-books. Because digital media outlets are much handier than print publications, they would capture more and more readers who no longer read print media. In conclusion, it is obvious that people would continue to choose online newspapers or e-books over printed ones because they are close at hand as well as provide fresh information every minute without needing to pay any amount of money.