Some people think that governments should invest mainly in making public transportation faster while other think there are more important priorities (cost, the environment). Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have differing views about priorities for public transport. While high-speed public transport infrastructure could improve people’s living conditions to a certain extent, I believe that the protection of the environment is more important. On the one hand, there are two reasons why speed could be seen as a top priority for public transport. Firstly, speedy public transport can save time from home to work and school, which is essential to modern urban life. With such convenience, it is said that more people would be willing to move to satellite towns, easing the problem of dense populations. Secondly, superfast transport infrastructure, such as China’s high-speed rail system, can serve as the backbone for a country’s economic growth. It can therefore be argued that speed should be the primary consideration for public transport. On the other hand, it is perhaps even more vital to consider the impact on nature when investing in a public transport system. Without that consideration, a transport system can become a hazard. In fact, many of the bridges and tunnels built have caused irreversible damage to the environment and threaten the health of wildlife species and ecosystems. Adding to this, many of these infrastructures are the main culprit of air and noise pollution. If governments invested more in environmentally friendly forms of transportation, such as cycling, our cities would be less polluted and more harmonious with nature. In conclusion, I understand why people might want to have faster public transportation, but it seems to me that an eco-friendly transport system is much more desirable for our health and our planet.