Some people say that government should not put money on building theatres and sport stadium. They should spend more money on healthcare and education. Do you agree or disagree ?

It is sometimes argued that the funds for building theatres and stadiums should be allocated for hospitals and schools. While I agree that access to adequate medical and educational services is our basic need, I believe that facilities for hosting arts and sporting events are equally important. To begin with, the first argument that springs to my mind is that the value of arts and sports goes beyond entertainment. When it comes to monetary value, building theatres and sport stadiums does not mean that there is no financial return. On the contrary, such facilities can have significant economic ramifications. In fact, hosting a major musical or sporting event in a city can directly support thousands of employees and generate millions of dollars in revenue for tourism and retail businesses. In addition, creative sports venues such as China’s Bird Nest can become a landmark for tourist attraction. Thus, such buildings can be economically and creatively successful, and at absolutely no cost to the taxpayer. Equally worth mentioning is that arts and sports are not in conflict with medical care and education. As for health, theatres and sport stadiums are places where individuals can promote mental and physical health. Participating in arts and sports activities can lead people from illness to wellness, reducing the burden on hospitals and health care expenses. As for education, stadiums can promote education in the sense of community and national identity. This could be done by hosting international events such as the Olympic Games to unite citizens together for and with the country. Therefore, we should be mindful of the possible synergistic effects of building theatres and sports centres. In conclusion, building theatres and sports venues can be a productive public investment, and at the same time, that can have a positive impact on health and education. If the government commits to such investments, our cities will have a better chance of becoming more creative and vibrant.