Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we do not longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

While many individuals believe that advertisements are extremely useful to persuade people for buying things, others suggest that they are not that efficient since there are a lot of paid ads these days. This essay will cover both opinions, but as far as I believe personalised promotional ads work very well for companies to increase customer purchase intent. There are several reasons why people consider advertising as a booster for their product sales. Firstly, creative advertising can create a positive sense of trust among customers if they are engaging and meaningful, which is an important factor behind any purchase decision. For example, creative ads on TVs, radios, and online apps have helped several firms to build a positive image for their brand resulting in increased profits. Secondly, ads are a great source of increasing product reachability to the masses, which increases their sales probability. For instance, ads can increase the number of users visiting a website which can result in higher sales as the target audience size has increased. Thus, many consider advertisements can help in increasing the company's revenue. On the other hand, some reckon that advertising has lost its sheen as the user ecosystem is filled with too many promotional messages. The number of advertisements a normal user goes through daily has gone up drastically with all brands using them to promote their products, which has led to most people skipping the promotional content. A classic example is Youtube where over 90% of the folks skip the ads within the first 5 seconds of starting a video as user attention for paid content has gone down as they are flooded with tons of ads. Hence, some folks consider that ads have lost their relevance for users due to over advertising by businesses. To conclude, though good advertising can bring in more business for a firm, its effectiveness has been declining due to its over-usage for promoting brands. However, I strongly suggest that personalising user ads based on customer interest has great potential to increase sales revenue for a firm.