One way to solve the problem of congestion is to increase the tax on private vehicles. Do the advantages of this solution outweigh its disadvantages?

It is true that establishing new taxes on proprietary cars is a way to escape the massive burning of fossil fuels. Some critics may disagree with me but I believe that the benefits of this change are outweighed by drawbacks. To begin with, in terms of healthcare, this solution will sharply improve the well-being of the community. Nowadays a large number of people suffer from diseases caused by pollutants, so decreasing the amount of these substances in the air will contribute to the creation of a healthier population. For instance, the Chinese introduced vehicle taxation and achieved almost ninety per cent of their citizens being free of any illnesses. Despite this, preventing the population from purchasing vehicles can lead to a decline in temp of growth. The private cars create an opportunity to move faster and fully remove the waiting for public transportation, so by rejecting it the government can lower the time employees allocate work. For example, a worker who possesses his own vehicle can sit in the car and get to the workplace in several minutes, while a worker who lives in the same place needs to get to a bus stop and lose his time waiting to transport. Moreover, the new taxes can noticeably raise the number of people who use the public transport making it inconvenient to use. The increased cost of having a private car will force a good number of people to give them up and use public transportation. As a result, the majority of drivers will switch to governmental transport making it overcrowded. In conclusion, although the new taxes on personal cars can prevent the combustion of fossil fuels and increase the rate of community health, it will significantly drop the development of society and make the movement of the ordinary population inconvenient.