Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it , should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In recent times, the crime rates globally have been increasing. This led to some people believing that every crime should have fixed retribution. On the other hand, others argue that the different situations of committing a crime and their motivation should be taken into account when determining punishment. There are various benefits of having fixed penalties, one of which is the decrease in misconduct rate. This is because most people will tend to panic with the implementation of rigid laws that will make them think twice before committing misconduct. Another advantage of having fixed punishment is that all criminals are treated fairly for each of their crimes. It is essential to ensure that no one will be discriminated against or get offended in public. For example, a serious punishment will be incurred to those who commit serious crimes like murder will definitely deter and cause the would-be offenders to change their minds before committing a crime. In contrast, it is vital to take into account the reasons behind why criminals commit crimes. First of all, many of them, especially teenagers who are more susceptible to feeling lonely are easily influenced by their peers. They do not have mature thinking and are not aware of the possible negative impacts of their actions. For instance, there is an increasing rate of children aged 11-16 stealing and assault as they are surrounded by people who do not condone these actions. It is also believed by the public that most criminals lack the guidance and love from their parents which made them to behave violently and aggressively. In conclusion, crimes committed by criminals have different motives. The judiciary body should determine the punishment of each criminal based on their motives and what crime they did.