Despite a variety of sports facilities and gyms, people are less fit nowadays than ever before. What do you think are the main causes of this problem? What solutions can you suggest?

Nobody is a stranger to the fact that these days in some nations the typical weight of people is rising and their levels of health and fitness are falling. As far as I am concerned, this is one of the biggest problems facing the world today. Below I will discuss these factors with solutions that both governments and individuals should do. There are many causes, if you ask me, why this state of affairs has come about. In the first place, we do not get time for exercise. The world's population is much bigger now than it was in the past. There is fierce competition for everything. Humans have to work or study much harder and longer in order to make ends meet. Therefore, they do not have time and energy to play sports or go to gyms. In addition, we have a sedentary lifestyle. As a rule, we spend the most hours sitting in front of computers, in cars, on buses and trains. As a result, we burn fewer calories and the inverse is true as it makes us more likely to gain weight. To name but one example, obesity increases the risk of heart diseases, diabetes and some cancers. Having said that, there are a number of viable solutions to resolve this issue. For one thing, both private companies and governments should install more exercise equipment in workplaces, and allow breaks for staff to use it. As well as this, public sector and private sector management should allow those who can work from home. Saving commuting time means they can cook more healthy food and get exercise. Turning to my own experience in this regard, I'm an international student from China, at present based in Sydney, Australia. I have found since I come here that people here, spend a lot of hours commuting. Not only that, but junk food like McDonald's, Hungary Jacks, KFC and so on is very popular. Consequently, there are a lot of people here who are overweight. At the end of the day, there are no merits in relation to this issue, only shortcomings. If we do not act to remedy the problem as it stands, it will only grow much worse in the years ahead.