Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favour of them because of their benefits to humanity. Can animal experiments be justifid? Are there any alternatives?

There is a controversial debate on animal experiments. While it cannot be deniable that essential scientific discoveries are attained by experiments on animals, this phenomenon should be banned because of its inhumanity. This essay is devoted to justifing the view and proposing solutions for this problem. It is true that animal tests has formed a foundation for a wide range of achievements in medical and costmetic fields. Animal like dogs, rabbits, and rats are exploited to test on new drugs or products, which helps human to develop new applications serving the desire of health and beauty at a cruel expense of animal's death. For example, vaccination testing has caused the death of thousands lab rats, in turns safe the lives of millions people. To human, this trade-off is reasonable for the sake of survival. However, there are experiments that taken place on animal which are not related to saving lives, but only for cosmetic purposes, which has raised concerns about morality. Rabbits are tested with beauty product, which leads to miserable deaths. This cannot be normalized, as modern world are aiming to achieve a harmonious living with nature. In my opinion, certains tests on animal, which does not serve human's survival purpose, should be put out of law. To address this lingering problem, alternatives are feasible with the development of technology. Human's body has been put into throughout investigations dating back thousands years ago, giving us profound knowledge to immitate certains parts of the body with similar functions and reactions to external stimulations. Thus, a solution can be developed based on this concept, scientist can build human-like system to be tested with new medicine or beauty products. For example, artificial human skin can be made to predict the dermatology reactions with newly-developed cosmetics. Another solution, especially for beauty industries, is to use current insights on naturual compounds, which has been proved unharmed to human skin, as a foundation to develop tests without involving animal experiments. In conclusion, there are certains animal tests that should be restricted totally because of their cruelty, as artificial human body can be an alternative solution. To accelerate the transformation to more humane testing method, large funding are needed by both gornverment and private sectors.