Some people believe that computers are more a hindrance than a help in today's world. Others feel that they are such indispensable tools that they would not be able to live or work without them. •In what ways are computers a hindrance? •What is your opinion?

Views are often divided on the actual role of computers in this thriving era of technological advancements. While it makes sense to me that those creations might stand in the way of meaningful communication and connection between one person and another, I am more aware of humans' responsibilities in rendering them baffling without admitting that they have been badly misused. On a negative note, computers do impose certain limits on daily interactions between users and the ones around them. Admittedly, children nowadays, for instance, seem to spend less quality time with their families and friends at the cost of their addiction to web games or social networking sites. In that way, not only would they be cut off from intimate relationships, but they might also lose touch with the whole world and its current affairs, then consequently are left behind with nothing but loneliness. More importantly, computers could engender health issues in the long term should they be misapplied to serve one's day looking fixedly at the screen. Some practical examples of these have been visual impairment, backache, and eating disorders,... However, from my perspective, it is unreasonable to judge computers based solely on their drawbacks, as they have no idea how they will be utilised, after all. Moreover, so great has their contribution to our society's prosperity been that the harmful side effects already might pale in comparison (namely the ease with which we collect data, store crucial information, conduct complex calculations, etc. Hence, it is not these computers that should take the blame for the obstacles facing us but the brains behind them - humans. In brief, I contend that computers act as a barrier to humans' way to their destination. Hopefully, people could soon figure out ways to lessen the hindrances posing against them, and would eventually treat computers as a friend rather than a stumbling block.