In some countries university students live at home with their family while they study, whereas in other countries students attend university in another city. Do you think the benefits of living away from home during university outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience.

It is true that learners in some nations attend school while living with their families. However, in other places, they travel to other cities to study. I argue that living at home is more beneficial than residing at a boarding school because of the availability of social support and less spending on expenses. This essay will explore these points below. First and foremost, when living at home, university students have the advantage of tapping into their family environment for emotional and social support. They are not as lonely as they would be living alone in other cities, and can rely on their social capital in tough times. For example, I was able to manage my emotions better and produced excellent academic results while living with my father and mother in Africa, compared to the time I studied abroad. Their presence made the difference. Secondly, living at home offsets costs associated with food and rent that one would have to confront while living independently in another country. As a result, one can work less and focus more on studying. For instance, during my learning years while staying at home, I did not have to work and did not have the pressure of paying rent or purchasing consumables. This was desirable because my attention was mostly focused on school, leading to my graduation with a distinction degree classification. On the other hand, however, studying at home can come with the challenges of having to do house chores and diverting attention to other things in the house. But these do not outweigh the advantages of being with your family. In conclusion, I argue that it is better to study for a college degree while residing with your family because they can act as a buffer for your financial and emotional challenges. This outweighs having to reside in another place where loneliness and expenses can prevent you from focusing on school. These issues were discussed above.