According to a recent study, the more time people use the Internet, the less time they spend with real human beings. Some people say that instead of seeing the Internet as a way of opening up new communication possibilities worldwide, we should be concerned about the effect this is having on social interaction. How far do you agree with this opinion?

The internet is a result of advanced technology, and it benefits humans in many areas. The most common one is that it provides effective communication using emails and instant messaging services to any part of the world. However, some people are more concerned about how it affects our life. I do believe that there are some drawbacks when people over-rely on the internet. Addiction to social networks can disrupt an individual’s life, both personally, and professionally. It is clear that the internet removes all communication barriers with the ability to send messages, images, and videos via contact apps. However, people can take this privilege too far. For example, in private time, people might use their smartphones to chat with their friends and upload a lot of posts instead of talking to real human beings. You will often find that when people hang out with their friends in a beautiful and high-class restaurant, they focus more on using their phones to take pictures or post on Instagram. It seems a common phenomenon, and we may call it ‘lonely together’. When people start to feel lonely, it might cause some mental health problems such as depression. Moreover, many people receive work messages during their holidays, meaning that they cannot rest completely after work. This pressure can lead to future mental health problems if not resolved. Furthermore, another huge problem is anonymous posts to hurt people on the internet. It is well-known that many cases of bullying are constituted of verbal attacks from netizens. They always think that they do not have to take any responsibility for their words and actions on the internet. As a result, netizens continue to hurt people through anonymous comment posts. Victims of cyberbullying often fear ever facing people again, or they might even choose to end their life. In conclusion, people should appreciate the internet for bringing us a convenient lifestyle. However, we cannot deny it brings up some big issues as well. People should find out ways to reduce damage from the internet and limit the usage time.