One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

With the development of the medical system, modern people can live longer and enjoy increasing life longevity. From my perspective, this trend has more benefits than drawbacks. On the one hand, a longer life expectancy can bring tremendous advantages for human beings. In the first place, people have more time to enjoy their lives with their family and friends. It is true that the public lived shorter age in previous times due to the low medical care, as a result, many people had to suffer from their loved ones leaving them at an early age. Therefore, living longer can give citizens more chances to be together with their loved ones and enjoy life. In the second place, people can contribute to the society more if they can live longer, such as the US president Biden, who is almost 80 years ago, still makes a vital influence on the whole world. On the other hand, a long life expectancy will cause a huge burden to the family and government as well. To begin with, a family member usually has to take the responsibility to take care of their older parents, while youngsters have to work and look after their children at the same time, which leads to significant pressure on young individuals. When it comes to the government, most of the elderly people are retired and can not contribute to the workforce and the tax. Meanwhile, the government have to subsidize enormous pension to support them, like medical care, which takes a roll-on financial burden on the society. To sum up, a longer life expectancy can give people more time and chances to be together with their families and enjoy life. I think it is a positive development and that is the meaning why we develop our medical care and the society.