In a number of countries some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities .Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport . Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In several nations some individuals deliberate that it is mandatory to spend huge amounts of money on constructing new railway lines for fast trains between towns.While others are of the opinion that money should be used to upgrade current public transport. Therefore,in this essay I will examine both views and provide a plausible conclusion. To begin with new rail lines are fast, efficient and suitable for people with tedious work timetables such as businessmen or women.It is because they have countless meetings and businesses in various towns or cities. Therefore the construction of new and sophisticated railway lines improves the quality of transport and saves time. For instance old trains take longer to transport goods or people up to 8-12 hours whereas a speed train can spend about 1-3 hours on a 500 km journey. Hence this efficient technology improves transport system for busy people and carriage which needs to be transported faster to their destinations. On the other hand other people think that the existing transport network should be maintained and improved. This is because some of the old transportation is still functional and requires minimal repairs to transport the citizens again. For example in Zimbabwe there is a company called Zimbabwe United Public Commuters (Zupco) which has been in existence for over 25 years.All because of poor maintenance the buses started developing mechanical faults so there is need to repair and restore function to improve the current public transport. Nevertheless,due to countless repairs the buses might start to break down again and if the benefits of buying a brand new bus are weighed versus several repairs it is worth to acquire a new one. In conclusion,new railway lines help some people to save time because of the efficiency and convinience convenient. However old existing transport can be maintained as it requires minimum repairs to restore normal functionality. Hence, in my opinion I think that it is important to spend money on new railways that adapts to the technology and current trends.