Many parts of the world are losing important natural resources, such as forests, animals or clean water. Choose one resource that is disappearing and explain why it needs to be saved.

Resource, per se, is fundamental for us to maintain our lives, e.g., clothing, housing, and culinary food composed of natural resources. Nowadays, some natural resources, such as water, forests, and oil, are in danger due to overconsumption, which is caused by the advances in technologies and economic activities worldwide. Admitting that it is a matter of relativity what kind of natural resources we pick up, the answer varies from person to person, depending on the value systems or countries. All in all, I would like to highlight the importance of forests for two reasons. First of all, forests have a vital role in maintaining water in the soil, contributing to preventing a flood and a landslide. However, in Japan, a vast amount of forests and trees in the mountains are cut down to develop golf parks and ski resorts. As a result, many researchers insist that the risk of landslides increases in the case of heavy rain like typhoons. Therefore, we need to protect forests to ensure our safety. Secondly, but not less importantly, forests offer dwellings where many animals live. For example, a bear, one of the most fierce animals in nature, usually lives in a deep forest, but we often see the news: it appears in the town areas and hurts the local people. The main cause is considered as a lack of food in its forest due to climate change. Hence, in order to realize the coexistence of both people and animals, maintaining forests is a crucial issue. That having been mentioned, I hasten to add that people should not completely use resources from forests, such as timber. The crux of this question is that we must reconsider the use of natural resources, whether utilization or overconsumption.