It is expected that there will be a higher proportion of old people than young people in the future in some countries. Do you think it is a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In our modern society, population ageing has become a prevalent phenomenon in many countries, where it is predicted that senior citizens are more likely to account for an increasingly large proportion of the whole population. Personally speaking, there will be more problems than benefits the issue could bring for both countries and individuals. It is undeniable that the life experiences elderly people own are much more valuable and richer, by learning from which, the younger generation could learn many lessons and avoid making same mistakes. Also, senior citizens do have more free time after retirement. Therefore, they can help do a great number of household chores, which could relieve the burden on their adult children, many of whom have both their careers to develop and their own families to provide for.In spite of that, it is inevitable for old people to be plagued with some age-related maladies and the general and inescapable degradation of their bodily functions, which probably intensify their next generation's pressure for they have to spend more taking care of the old. Moreover, for the whole countries, the increasing number of the elderly could cause a relative rise in public resources required for pensions, health and residential care outlays, resulting in a huge financial burden for a country. Besides, more old people means that less available workers could be offered. For some countries, especially those whose national economy relies heavily on the labour- intensive industries, population ageing would hinder the development of economy and even bring about serious economic crisis.In conclusion, according to the above arguments, the negative effects generated by population ageing, an unavoidable trend in the future, could outweigh the positive. Thus, as ageing is a normal part of lifecycle for human beings, we must recognize its challenges to our life and society, and work on effective strategies to minimize its adverse influences.