Weddings are getting bigger and more expensive. What is the reason for this? Is it a positive or negative development?

It is often argued that couples are investing more and more in extravagant and huge marriage ceremonies. The paragraphs below will discuss this theory explaining why the influence of social platforms and the eager to live have cooperated for this phenomenon and why it is not an advantageous progress. To begin with, there are a myriad of motives to justify why weddings are becoming huge events. One of which is due to the advent of social media. Since the development of some platforms, like Instagram and Facebook, people started an idea the posting about extortionate and gigantic celebrations and moments are normal, even it is not their reality. Therefore, it is just another way to maintain their status quo. Another justification is because people are celebrating life more than ever. To illustrate, after the COVID-19 pandemic, the rate of marriages has risen compared to before this period. However, following this trend is not an interesting decision. First of all, it is a considerable investment for one night only that could be sectioned in others expenses. For instance, every bride and groom mostly desire to live together, constitute a family, travel, thus, they must value frugality. Secondly, the effort to make it happen may not be worth the stress. For example, my sister has not enjoyed her wedding because she spend most of it worried if the guests were being served or if the band was going to arrive on time, on a day that she should have been the person to enjoy the most. To conclude, recently, weddings have become bigger and more expensive due to the use of social networks to post trivia and due to the fear of maybe not having these experiences at another time. Moreover, this development is not worth it, as the expenses can hamper to reach other goals and and stress out the people who must be pleased.