Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is being argued that raising the cost of gas is the most efficient strategy to tackle increasing traffic and pollution issues. However, I totally stand against this idea because of uncontrollable inflation and urban chaos. The main reason for my disagreement with this idea is a sudden rise in prices. since in some countries with an oil-based economy such as my country, Iran, petrol is considered a basic commodity, any fluctuation in its price could affect the prices of all other items. for example, two years ago the price of gas tripled which lead to an increase in the cost of other products from groceries to electronics to public transportation. This will put people under severe economic pressure. Subsequently, traffic and pollution may reduce to some extent. yet it is not worth to economic harm it causes. Another reason for my disagreement with this proposition is the city life issues. In most cities of the world, public transit is not improved. There are not enough bus lanes and metro lines. The intervals between buses are too long. Public transportation is crowded and uncomfortable. As a result of simple rain or snowfall, people are not able to commute to and from work. If petrol price were increased, the majority of society would not be able to afford it and tend to the public transportation which is not improved. Consequently, city life could be disrupted, because there is not enough public transportation in comparison to the number of individuals. In conclusion, to reiterate, I disagree with making petrol more expensive to control traffic and pollution because of unmanageable price escalation and municipal anarchy. If this solution is put into practice, it could have detrimental impacts.