The aging population is good for business, the economy and society. Others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In this day and age, there has been a controversial argument about the elderly population whether it is good or not for many different aspects of life. While there is a common belief that the ageing population helps to develop business, the economy, and society, I am convinced that the older population may have several disadvantages. When our society is growing day by day and people's demands to improve their lives are increasing, the ageing population has an important role in giving us many benefits. First and foremost, people who have more experience will be better at making decisions because they are older and have a wider range of knowledge by years than the young. Not just that, adults can also hands-on experience with younger people, and help them to avoid repeating their mistakes in the past. Besides, the elderly also can be considered as family care-takers or babysitters, thus they can help young parents to focus on their work and support them in the process of upbringing their children. Consequently, the older population plays a vital part in our life. On the other hand, I believe aside from the elderly population giving us benefits for life, it also leaves some problems. One of the most common issues is lacking labour force which leads to the brink of an economic downturn. For instance, in this new modern life, young people in China and Japan do not want to get married and have babies. Therefore, these countries are facing a labour crisis because of the increasing expectancy and greying population. Furthermore, people over 60 years old are often no longer able to contribute to the economy, and they are the ones who are in need of social welfare such as pensions or healthcare. As a result, this issue put huge pressure on the national budget. In conclusion, it is often believed that the ageing population is practically good for business, the economy and society, I am more convinced that this is an urgent problem because it affects people ’s lives in the future.