The range and quality of food that we can buy has changed because of technological and scientific advances. Some people regard this change as an improvement, while others believe that it is harmful. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have differing views about whether technological advances in food are considered harmful or beneficial. In my opinion, while there are certain threats to the environment, the benefits of food technology to humans outweigh the drawbacks. On the one hand, opponents point out that scientific developments in food have several detrimental effects on our ecosystems. Firstly, as genetically modified (GM) food starts to dominate agriculture, many other crops have been vanishing. Secondly, as GM crops are resistant to pests, there is a growing risk that some essential food chains can be broken. Thirdly, some chemicals in GM crops not only does resist to pests, but also kill bugs that we need, like butterflies. Therefore, it is often said that advanced food science endangers biodiversity and causes irreversible harm to our ecosystems. On the other hand, I believe that food innovations is of paramount importance to the lives of many people. Due to growing populations around the world, food shortages have become a pressing problem in many countries, especially in the more impoverished areas. With the advent of genetically modified food, more crops can be produced at a lower cost, which means food can be more affordable and abundant. This is all the more important as the food supply problem has been exacerbated by the intensification of international conflicts in recent years. Adding to this, food innovation does give people more options. Planted-based meat is a point in case. In conclusion, while there are some threats to biodiversity, I believe that technological and scientific advances in food solve critical food supply issues and provide us with important food choices, and that, overall, is more important.