Some educationalists think that a programme of international exchange visits will offer various benefits for teenage school students. Do you think the advantages of it outweigh the disadvantages?

It is believed by a few educationalists that an international exchange programme is beneficial for the students. I support that such exchange programmes can bring a good change to the system. This essay will elaborate on how its merits of it outweigh its cons. There are numerous benefits of international exchange for the students. Firstly, it enhances the knowledge level among teens. To quote an example, international youngsters bring in different knowledge from their country and share the same with their classmates. Thus, it increases the horizons of new learnings and enhances their overall education. Secondly, it improves networking across countries. For instance, different countries participate in foreign schooling which helps to build new relationships. Moreover, adolescents get a chance to make new friends from outside their country. Thus, such participation not only increases knowledge level but broadens the networking of individuals at the international level. On the other hand, it comes with a major drawback that it can harm the cultural values of a country. Since these programmes include students from different cultures, it results in multiculturism which can potentially harm the nation's original culture. For instance, kids easily get attracted to new things and adapt to new lifestyle habits which can deplete their own cultural values. Hence, a country's traditional values can suffer a loss because of these international inter-change programmes. To conclude, while such exchange visits can decrease the traditional values of a nation, it enhances the country's horizons to new educational knowledge and also widespread networking at a worldwide level which is more beneficial for students compared to the negatives. Thus, I believe that such programmes must be encouraged by our education system.