The Australian government has a policy of turning back the boats of people who attempt to enter Australia illegally. There are people who believe that this is right, but others who think that this is wrong. Examine both sides of this issue and give your own opinion.

It is widely believed that turning back the boats of refugees is an unjust law, while others support this decision by the Australian government. In my opinion, I think that although some have a favourable view of this policy, overall, it violates moral standards. First of all, it is generally recognised that repatriating these illegal entries is the responsibility of governments to protect national security. The reason for that is because it has the potential risk of crime. For example, if criminals flee abroad by boat to escape from their mandatory penalties, they would have a high chance of committing a crime in entering countries. Since this can lead to an indirect increase in the rate of crime in Australia, the prohibition of illegal boats is one of the manners in which the Australian government defends their citizens. On the other hand, it is claimed that the law of declining illegal refugees is inappropriate. A key reason for this is that governments refuse these refugees are seeking a place to survive is against moral standards. For instance, if people would get away from their countries due to the war happening inland, they have no alternative but to seek abroad to remain alive. Furthermore, the Australian government implementing the law probably will negatively affect the image of Austra lia internationally because of the inhumane way of dealing with the refugees. In conclusion, I believe that both sides have different essential motivations and consider from an opposite standpoint. However, in my view, it should be criticised due to the unsympathetic attitude when the Australian government is facing asylum seekers.