Overpopulation is the world's most serious environmental problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In this day and age, whether excessive growth in the population of the world is a positive or negative phenomenon has sparked a heated debate. Personally, I maintain that this trend is not positive. Convincing arguments can be made that the over-polluted world inflicts serious damage on the planet's ambience. First of all, the increased population means nothing but the high amount of greenhouse gases emitted into the air. In other words, such obnoxious gases emission will lead to ozone depletion so that the damaged ozone layer can further trigger global warming. Consequently, the life of a tremendous amount of creatures will be on the verge of extinction. Secondly, when it comes to having highly-populated regions on the planet Earth there is no alternative but to provide much more houses for the populous. For instance, more natural areas or agricultural territories are likely to be devastated to fulfil the need for housing. Therefore, irreversible damages are far more likely to be caused to green nature. Admittedly, densely-peopled towns to some extent can be attributed to the fact that in this contemporary era life expectancy has heightened. To be more exact, the ever-growing medical health, medicinal technologies, and remedial treatments bring a lot to people's lifestyles. Then, higher longevity among members of the people will construct overcrowded zones. Even so, this product of medical development never justifies posing threats of devastation and damage to the environment in the favor of human beings. To conclude, I would concede that some environmental destructions as a result of the existence of bustling cities are inevitable to some extent. Despite that, most alternations imposed on the world are untold and it is required to be banned or curbed.