Most high-level positions in companies are filled by men even though the workforce in many developed countries is more than 50 per cent female. Companies should be required to allocate a certain percentage of these positions to women. To what extent do you agree?

Although more than half of companies' occupations are held by women, senior job positions are mainly occupied by men. For this reason, it is argued that these companies should assign a particular percentage of these positions to women. I completely disagree with this statement because women are capable of achieving these posts with their effort and merit.  Comparing the timeline of the work's existence, feminine positions have appeared just recently with the Industrial Revolution in the 20th century. Therefore, for this reason, women are gradually occupying an important part of the labor market and of higher education fields at universities once dominated by men. For instance, in the past, most of the doctors were men, but nowadays, women are continuously filling this significant field, taking almost or more than half of the percentages in many countries, such as Brazil. Moreover, although the majority occupation of masculine presence at important job posts, women are increasingly overcoming expectations by obtaining bachelor's degrees and specializations which consequently result in their occupation in leadership jobs through their effort and merit. Take Angela Merkel, the past chancellor of Germany, as an example, she was the first woman in a high-level political position in the country through her charisma and performance there.  In conclusion, I believe that owing to the recent participation of women in the labor market and higher education, they will gradually fill high-level positions based on their efforts and merit, without the need for a mandated percentage to allocate these positions to them.