Some people think that you can never become fluent in a language unless you have spent time living or working in that country. To what extent do you agree?

Language is an integral part of human communication and it is one such skill which can be learned through practice. Some people believe that, unless you have spent time living or working in a foreign country, you can never become fluent in a language. However, there are various other ways to become proficient in a foreign language. This essay will cover those. To begin with, people who live in foreign countries face difficulties in speaking their local language in the beginning, while this can be improved by talking to the local residents in their local language. Furthermore, a human mind grabs the language quickly if he is surrounded by the people who always speak the common language. For example, people travelling from India to other countries where English is the native language, find difficulties in the beginning, but once they talk to local residents they adapt their language. As a result, living or working in a foreign country can make the process of learning faster and simpler. On the other hand, living in a foreign land is not the only way to become fluent in a language. People can look for various other ways too, such as reading books, watching movies and regional shows, and listing to songs. In addition, people might find it difficult to understand in the starting, but slowly and gradually people start to enjoy it. For instance, my friend who is not a French person can speak French fluently, he learned by watching french shows and listening to French songs. Thus, to develop fluency in any language one has to begin somewhere. In conclusion, although to some extent I believe that people working or studying in a foreign country tends to learn their local language faster as they are surrounded by the local residents, it can also be taken into consideration that reading, and watching shows online can help in developing fluency in a particular language.