While some people consider global warming to be the most pressing environmental problem now, others believe that deforestation has a more detrimental effect. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

While it is widely claimed that global warming is the most urgent environmental issue that we should face at the moment, some argue that the over-exploitation of forests has caused a more negative impact on our world. Both points of view and the reason why I believe that deforestation can lead to more severe damage to our environment. To begin with, it might seem sensible for some to believe that people are likely to disregard the ecological consequences of their activities, which cause the effects of global warming nowadays. This is possibly because individuals have been polluting the air, occurring from exhausting greenhouse gases through transportation, electricity generation, and other forms of energy production and usage, they build up in the atmosphere and warm the climate, leading to many other changes around the world such as creating the high PM 2.5 levels. On the other hand, opponents of this idea might propose that deforestation needs to be tackled on the alarming concern of the environment. To put in other words, they consider that cutting down forests have contributed to destructing carbon sinks and building up carbon dioxide in the atmosphere. In this and age, for instance, droughts, tropical storms, and heatwaves are increasing in severity and frequency because of climate change, which these will continue to result in increases in forest losses. From this perspective, it is understandable why some would prefer to mitigate the severity of this issue. Personally, I would argue in favour of the deforestation problem, as this tends to be a severe impact the environmental dimension. Take CNN news, for example; for the past five years, they have been portraying the deforestation rate at the highest level, seeing that they have been attempting to reflect the critical issue of the environment, which is caused by human actions. Consequently, assuming that the government should give full control over the forest area, they could enforce a regulation and laws to govern it. In conclusion, although it is undeniable that people should consider the global warming problem, I am of the opinion that the disruption of humans in forests should be considered to the most pressing ecological issue in order to mitigate the pessimistic effects.