The Australian government has a policy of turning back the boats of people who attempt to enter Australia illegally. There are people who believe that this is right, but others who think that this is wrong. Examine both sides of this issue and give your own opinion.

Illegal immigration is a problem of developed countries. In Australia, government enforces illegal immigrants' ships to return to their origin. It is often claimed that this is a policy to protect domestic citizens, while some deem that it is too harsh for refugees. The perspectives for both views are what we will be looking at in this piece. First of all, people who agree the restriction of illegal immigration believe that refugees may occupy a lot of social resources. For instance, government needs to provide houses to settle those people. It is no reason to accept illegal immigration without any support. Furthermore, government should provide public medical service for them, even though it may raise the burden of public health system. Undeniably, government has the responsibility to protect their local residents. On the contrary, some argue that government should show the protection of human right. In fact, No one wants to leave their home town permanently as long as they can survive at that place. People have to escape from their home country because of many reasons, such as wars, disease and political reasons. Supporting them can raise the national image of the country. Moreover, immigrants can contribute additional productivity to the society. Since manpower is a kind of resources for the country as well, more labour can boost the economy. However, it may cause other issue, like imbalance supply and demand of labour market, underpaying salary and unreasonable working hours. To sum up, allowing illegal immigrants may create reputation and bring extra workers for the country. Yet, they may spend resource of the nation. As far as I am concerned, government should balance the merits and demerits of receiving refugees, and make sure residents and citizens should have priority of gaining social benefits.