More and more people are suffering from health problems caused by a modern life style which cannot be treated with modern medicine.some people think that a return to traditional medicine should be encouraged.

It is widely believed that many individuals are undergoing health challenges due to lifestyle modifications which cannot be cured with English remedies. Many think that it will be advantageous to return to unorthodox medicine. I strongly disagree with the statement because of the shortage of scientific backup and many other reasons. To begin, Traditional medicine is those drugs that are been prescribed by non-professionals. The use of unorthodox drugs should not be entertaining due to the fact that it is not scientifically proven. In other words, it does not contain specific requirements such as dosage, signs and symptoms and Adverse side reactions. They tend to give both children and adults the same dosage of drugs without considering the age and weight of such a person. They equally use one type of drug to treat many ailments. For example, a gogo cleanser is a traditional medication dealer that deals with herbal drugs. He uses one drug to treat both malaria, typhoid and stomach ache. Evidently, the use of traditional antibiotic is not advisable because of a lack of scientific backup. Furthermore, one tends not to know the content of the medication. Some of the traditional healers tend to add numerous leaves to the drugs while some go to an extent of adding human urine and faces to the drugs, and this causes damage to some vital organs such as, the liver and kidneys and equally leads to death too many people. To illustrates, Researchers have revealed that the majority of nephrology patients undergoing dialysis at Nnamdi Azikiwe University Teaching Hospital Nnewi (NAUTH) in Anambra state were a result of intake of unorthodox medication. In addition, The unorthodox healers are not properly trained. The majority of traditional medicine dealers do not go to higher institutions to acquire their knowledge rather they got their experience through practicals. They tend to have a shortage of information about the drugs in the theoretical aspects. They can prescribe medications but do not know the root cause and the pathophysiology of the sickness. Undoubtedly, the use of concoctions drugs should be eradicated because of improper training. In conclusion, although the use of unorthodox medicine might have some benefits may be due to cost-effectiveness, I vehemently disagree because of inadequate training and experience, unawareness of the content and limited backup of scientifical background. However, the government and health care practitioners should health educate and create awareness among people on the disadvantages of patronizing them and the authorities should equally provide hospitals to the nearest reach of citizens and reduce the price of drugs, so that poor masses can purchase pills at ease.