Buying things in the internet, such as books, air tickets and groceries is becoming more and more popular. Do the advantages of shopping in this ways outweigh the disadvantages?

With the rise of the world wide web came a new way of shopping and that is through sites such as Amazon and E-bay. This method of purchasing goods has many advantages and I believe they outweigh the disadvantages. To begin with, one of the main negative aspects of buying goods online is the fact that individuals have fewer reasons to leave their homes and this can lead to social isolation. Many social critics have argued that in today's world people are becoming more solitary in their way of life. This solitude is one of the main reasons for the rise in depression and mental illness. Human beings are social creatures and require interaction with others. By going to the grocery store or shopping centre they have a chance to meet and socialize with others. This simple act has been shown to improve mental well being. So in a sense, the rise in internet commerce may be contributing to the declining state of the human psyche. On the other hand, buying goods online has brought with it many other positive aspects. People nowadays are leading busier lives and sometimes do not have the spare time to go to the grocery store or mall. The internet has offered a great solution making lives easier for everyone. For example, if someone has been very busy at work and did not have the chance to run his errands, he can simply go online and order everything he needs. This offers a huge solution and is often a lifesaver. To conclude, although internet shopping may have contributed negatively to the overall mental health of the population, it has brought with it many other benefits that outweigh any negative impact it may have had.