Some people think that it is necessary to travel to other places to learn about cultures . Other say that books , films and the internet can be used as a source of information about different cultures. Do you agree or disagree ?

Learning about different cultures is a very important aspect of being human. It often gives us the chance to reflect on our own lives and perhaps view things with a different lens. Some have argued that the best way to experience different modes of life is by travelling to other places, while others claim that the same information can be achieved through movies, novels and the world wide web. I believe that nothing can match travelling to a different country and experiencing it with your own eyes. To begin with, films, books, and the internet only provide an idea of what a certain society may be like, and usually depict the creator's point of view. So they may be biased. Although, they may provide important information for you to know before visiting a new place. Moreover, they can give you primary information about the customs, traditions and language in a certain area. Allowing you to connect with the people there. So they can provide a brief overview which can help you during your visit. On the other hand, to truly connect and absorb another society's way of life you must visit. Nothing can give you a better involvement than going to a place and attempting to live the way they do. It can truly be an enriching experience. By going there, you can view it with your five senses. You can smell the place, hear the various sounds in a city or town and so forth. You also can understand the difficulties another population is going through and how they deal with these problems. These methods of coping may extend into your own life and enrich you as a person. To conclude, although cinema, books and the internet can provide a perspective of what different cultures may be like. They cannot compete with actually visiting a society as that provides the most powerful method of involvement.