Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Opting for a proper time to begin learning a foreign language would lead to better learning quality. This is believed to be achieved during primary rather than secondary school. This policy is adopted at some schools, with more significant drawbacks than benefits which this essay will discuss. Starting to learn a foreign language at primary school instead of secondary school could contain some rewards. Firstly, children can study the second language more both at school and at home. The reason is there are usually fewer courses in the curriculum of elementary school, so children can have more language -educating classes at the school. Moreover, children have more free time to study at their home. This is because they have fewer assignments to do at their home. Therefore, they have the possibility to spend more time learning the second language. This would naturally increase their overall knowledge. Secondly, children ’s brains are often compared to dry sponges which could absorb anything very well. Since their mind is less preoccupied and they have fewer responsibilities, their brains are fresher and more convenient to learn a new language that involves a lot of memory efforts. Nevertheless, beginning to learn the second language earlier could have some drawbacks. In fact, there is a great risk of demotivating children. This is because young children like to have fun and play with toys, and if studying a second language causes to lessen their fun and pleasure, it might make resistance to language learning in them. Hence, early language learning could have contrary consequences. Furthermore, grasping the external language sooner may conduct confusion about grammatical structures. What I mean is that younger children have not learned their native grammar properly yet, so learning the structures of both languages at the same time may create confusion for them. For instance, consider a situation where the order of different adjectives of a noun in a foreign language is different from their native one. Memorizing the pattern in one language might conduct a wrong one in the other one. Thus, it could have adverse effects on either of them.