Some people believe that engaging in active pastime does more to develop children’s life skills than spending time reading.

It is argued that taking park in pastime activities develops children ’s lifeskill more than spending time reading. I totally agree with this belief and this essay will aim to prove my point of view. On the one hand, reading brings many benefits to children. By reading, children can discover more about the world like people, culture, religion, even literature, geography, and history. but that new knowledge is passively absorbed and had no opportunity to practice. On the other hand, there are several utilities of active pastime to increase children's skills. When children play together in a team or groups like football or basketball, they can learn how to combine observation and analyze their competitors to win the game. And through that game, they can know something that reading can not bring to them such as working in group or networking which are really important for their future. Playing video games also helps children develop their mindset. Many games are difficult to conquer. And the graphics in the game are increasingly realistic, vivid, and attractive. That requires creativity, the ability to make appropriate strategies and logic of children through each game, thereby boosting their thinking and life skills day by day with more practice. In conclusion, children should not only read books to improve their knowledge, but also should spend time in pastime activities to experience and enhance life skills more. Parents should support their children's interests and accompany them to develop together.