Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end world poverty and hunger. Others say that economic growth is damaging the environment and must stop now. Discuss both these points of view and give your own opinion.

Currently, the world possesses some great problems that need to be solved in order for us to continue expanding and evolving. One of these problems is poverty and all of the lingering effects that revolve around it. Economic growth is our main solution right here as it provides us with income, with jobs and with money that we can use to lower world poverty. But is economic growth really the solution? What if it’s the one factor that contributes most to the environment and world poverty? In this essay, I will give 2 sides of opinion on whether economic growth is actually helping us or not. Firstly, there are some benefits to economic growth, it stabilizes our economy, which produces goods and services for us to use. It mandates jobs, households, factories and all the things that help us. Economic growth helps us grow both agriculturally and economically. Economic growth means that it provides us with more jobs, which lowers the perctentage of poor people. It provides people with poor families, providing people with opportunities that have never been provided before. It gave people new undiscovered talents and things that they enjoy. These jobs are also critical in supporting these unlucky families and giving them income to survive. All of this is done to lower world poverty which is happening currently right now. Along with economic growth, agricultural growth also happens. This means food prices would significantly decrease and would decrease global hunger. Even though economic growth is a great thing, it also causes major damage to the environment. By cutting down trees and clearing land for factories etc, we are destroying our nature and destroying crops, we are making the water contaminated just because of our personal benefits. Moreover, we are also producing a lot of trash every day, killing wild animals just because we wanna grow. We are killing tons and tons of sea creatures because we wanna fix a problem. In the end, to solve a problem you need a cause and effect, and in this case, if we want to solve world poverty and hunger, we need to sacrifice a part of our Earth.