In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

The needs of various public transportation systems differ from each region and vary with different nations. However, some people from most parts of the world think that government spending on public transportation infrastructures should be largely invested in new railway lines construction to offer very fast trains between cities. There are also many other people who believe that those budgets should be wisely used to improve existing public transport, currently accessed by a large number of citizens. Nowadays, many well-developed countries around the world have very fast trains assisting people to travel conveniently from one city to another in a very short time. There are numerous advantages of this railway system. Fast trains like bullet trains allow family members to meet up frequently, students from rural areas to study at schools which are situated many kilometres away from their homes and ensure an efficient transportation system that saves time and energy. However, it is not easy to install fast trains with badly damaged and under standard railway roads. For example, in Myanmar, current railway roads are not suitable for fast trains and major improvement projects like widening existing roads are required. Thus, very large sums of government funding should be spent on such projects first. On the other hand, instead of spending major funds on those huge plans, spending on repairing and improving current public transport is more favourable and reasonable for the sake of cost-saving and being more rational. Upgrading some important public transportation systems like creating more useful bus routes and building more bus stops can help people in a very short period. This can also indirectly attract more people to use public transportation and leave their personal vehicles at home. By doing so, carbon emissions will be reduced consequently and solve traffic congestion problems to an extent. To conclude, spending a large sum of budget on the former idea will have advantages in the long term for people from all over the country although it needs a certain amount of large funding sources and skilled labours. The second option of spending on current public transport is also beneficial in some ways but it is not sure that people from the countryside and rural areas will also have advantages equally.