1. Children nowadays spend a great deal of time watching television. However, television cannot replace the book as a learning tool, which is why children are less well‐educated today. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

How youths spend their time is crucial. Having said that, it is essential to provide the proper tools to educate them. Some people feel that the high usage of televisions causes a less-educated population. I partly agree with this statement, and this essay will illustrate why that is. The main purpose of movies is to help people relax and enjoy their free time, but throughout the years it has become a money-making machine. This outcome has resulted in the mass production of films. Being easily available to kids that prefer spending their time having fun instead of learning. This cycle has created a habit of disregarding school work. For instance, if a kid is given the choice between finishing his/her homework or watching Tom and Jerry, the latter would most likely be chosen. But that’s not to say it should totally be banned. Books are not for everyone, some kids are visual learners. Therefore, we can make the content educational and teach kids through the screen. Using platforms like YouTube for example is a great way to do this. It has a range of clips with various topics that traditional books contain, but it communicates important information in a more enjoyable manner. Therefore, if more work was done to incorporate learning and screen time our society would benefit. To sum up, even though books are vital they aren’t the only way to learn. Our world is constantly changing so, we need to keep up and adapt to our environment.