The increase in people's life expectancy means that they have to work till older age to pay for their retirement. One alternative is that people start to work at a younger age. Is this alternative a positive or negative development?

A longer life span forces people to work past their retirement age. As a result, some people consider starting their career at an early age. This is definitely a positive development that is beneficial from both individualistic and societal perspectives. An individual can be benefitted in numerous ways when they begin to work at a younger age. One of the advantages is that it widens one's horizon of possibilities to acquire higher pay scales as one progresses through their career. This becomes possible because developing and refining our skill sets is much easier at a younger age. For example, many courses that build up professional skills often have an upper age limit that prevents those above it from acquiring additional skills that enhance remuneration. Another possible advantage of starting to work at an early age is that there are lesser financial and familial obligations on an individual when they are young thus encouraging them to prioritise their career. From a societal perspective, younger employees can boost a company's functioning and can help in greater contributions to developing beneficial products for the community. The agility and robustness of one's youth will certainly be a bonus to employers who hire youngsters who can travel without the hassle of finding transport and can propose convincing business deals as middle-aged people who may not be as efficient as them. Companies often tend to invest in training young employees who are willing to stay longer with them. Finally, when focusing on careers more during their youth, becoming established and reaching financial stability becomes possible at a younger age. For instance, those who tend to be well settled in their thirties can devote more time to the upbringing of their children and spending quality time with their families. In conclusion, I would like to reiterate that beginning a career early is a better alternative to working beyond retirement age and it is definitely beneficial and will influence both the individual and society positively.