More and more people no longer read newspaper or watch TV programs to get news. They get news about the world through the internet. Is this a positive or negative development?

Numerous people nowadays are more interested in getting news from the internet instead of newspaper or TV programs. As far as I am concerned, the benefits of using the internet as a way to obtain news can outweigh the drawbacks. To begin with, it is more convenient for the public to get information through the internet. As it seems impossible to watch TV programs outside the house or read newspapers while they are walking, people can actually check the report everywhere online with their phones. For example, they can read the news while they are waiting for the bus or in the cafe. As a result, a more comprehensive view of the current situation of the world can be obtained once the society has varied pathways to getting information. On the other hand, some argue that the fake news introduced on the internet can misguide the community easily. As people can publish whatever they like and take no responsibility behind the screen, more and more fake statements will be exposed to citizens. For instance, financial instability may be caused if the public believes the unreliable predictions of stoke market issued on the internet. Therefore, the widespread of misleading messages can bring huge attention which results in a negative effect on both individuals and society once people are gullible. In conclusion, although the message spread by the internet can be dangerous and risky due to the lack of supervision, it can still benefit people owing to the various kinds of platforms which give them a chance to broaden their horizons.