Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

With the advancements in transportation facilities, people have more chances to go study or work overseas. Although there are numerous language resources to help us overcome the hardness, I still firmly believe that speaking the country ’s language is an essential ability to live in a foreign country because of some main reasons. In the social aspect, it is undeniable fact that speaking a foreign language fluently can help us seek jobs more successfully in a foreign country. For instance, in the abundance of job seekers, the human resource must choose the one who has an excellent language ability. Aside from this, to work in an office, it is important to completely know a language in order to communicate with co-workers efficiently. Likewise, when studying abroad, it will be harder for non-native speakers to read papers or do teamwork with their classmates. Speaking of the practical problem, it might not be a serious problem in lack of foreign language ability. With the rich language translation resources, it becomes much easier to interact with local dwellers. Nevertheless, without knowing the language of the area, it might be harder to make friends with local people and integrate into the local custom. To illustrate it, when trying to chat with a local person, you will find it hard to keep a conversation going without knowing the language well. Therefore, talking like a native speaker can help our life in a foreign country be more successful and easier. From my point of view, for a visitor, it is not a serious problem to not learn the language of the country. However, learning a foreign language must be an essential ability for those who have to stay in a country for more than a year.